Algorius Net Watcher Manual
Automatic disconnection

Automatic disconnection

Disconnect all users automatically

You have an ability to disconnect all users who connect to your PC.

This feature might be useful when you perform some resource-intensive operation and you do not want other users to slow down your PC by downloading files from it. E.g., when you play some powerful computer game or edit a huge file in a graphics editor or perform some continuous compilation or files conversion, etc.

To activate this mode, please, select the ConnectionsDisconnect Everybody option in the main window menu or press the Disconnect Everybody button on the Algorius Net Watcher toolbar or simply press Ctrl+1. The Disconnect Everybody button will be showed as pressed and the appropriate system tray icon will appear to display the “Disconnect Everybody” mode is ON.

Do not forget to turn this mode OFF when you don’t need it anymore! To do this, select the DisconnectDisconnect Nobody option from the main window menu, or press the Disconnect Nobody button on the toolbar or press Ctrl+3.

Disconnection mode control is also available from the Algorius Net Watcher system tray context menu.

Please note that the Algorius Net Watcher software disconnects users periodically (10 times per second), so the files can be downloaded from your PC between whiles. Please, use the Windows tools to limit access to a shared resource or some additional firewall software to completely disable the file download.

In accordance with the Windows security policy user disconnection procedure requires you to have administrator rights.

Disconnect selected users automatically

You have an ability to disconnect selected users who connect to your PC.

This feature is based on making up a special list of network users and PC’s that allows you to disconnect specified users or all the users except those specified.

The first thing you need to do is select an appropriate disconnection mode. Go to the Algorius Net Watcher options dialog, select the Disconnection tab and choose its type: disconnect all those on the list, or disconnect all those not on the list.

Choosing the disconnection of all those on the list option is convenient when you have a list of users who are undesirable to access your PC. Choosing the disconnection of all those not on the list option is convenient when you have a list of users you want to allow downloading files from your PC.

You can use this dialog to fill the disconnection list. Press the Add button to add a user to the list, then enter all the required parameters (user name and/or PC name) and click OK. Press Edit to edit the selected list item. Press Clear to clear the list. Press Remove to remove the selected list item.

You can also use the main window to add a user to the disconnection list. To do this, select a user from the connection list and choose the DisconnectAdd to Disconnection List option in the main window menu.

You can use the main window to remove a user from the disconnection list. To do this, select a user from the connection list and choose the DisconnectRemove from Disconnection List option in the main window menu.

Turn ON disconnect according to the list mode in order to automatically disconnect the users according to the list. To do this, select the ConnectionsDisconnect According to List option from the main window menu or press the Disconnect According to List button on the toolbar or simply press Ctrl+2.

After that Algorius Net Watcher will automatically disconnect users according to the disconnection list formed.

Do not forget to turn this mode OFF when you don’t need it anymore! To do this, select the DisconnectDisconnect Nobody option from the main window menu, or press the Disconnect Nobody button on the toolbar or press Ctrl+3.

Disconnection mode control is also available from the Algorius Net Watcher system tray context menu.

Please note that the Algorius Net Watcher software disconnects users periodically (10 times per second), so the files can be downloaded from your PC between whiles. Please, use the Windows tools to limit access to a shared resource or some additional firewall software to completely disable the file download.

In accordance with the Windows security policy user disconnection procedure requires you to have administrator rights.